Leaving tonight!

Today is my last day stateside.  I got to start off an overseas trip with a roadtrip with two of my cousins and my aunt, which was enormously enjoyable, and maybe a little bit raucous (in a good way).  I also got to see a few good friends (including my godmother!) in Chicago and will see a few more before today ends, which is the perfect way to start off a trip that will be brimming with strangers. 

In approximately 23 hours I will be boarding a plane for Abu Dhabi, where I will wander around the airport, wishing I could go outside, until two hours have passed and I board the plane to Bombai.  After that…your guess is as good as mine. 

The three-months long trip begins with a convent in Pune (poo-nay, according to the travel buddy I met last night…I knew pyoon sounded wrong) and will finish in the slums of DehraDun.  I am not sure of the details, so I will not waste your time with conjecture.  What I do know is that the goal is discipleship, which I think means intense Christian community among program participants (all of us coming from different countries and backgrounds), accompanied by a certain degree of Christian education a concentrated effort to be involved in the surrounding community in a proactive, helpful, hopefully sustainable way. 

That was definitely conjecture. 

I want to tell you how I feel about going to India, because that it the most common question friends and family have asked recently, but the truth is I am not sure. 

Mostly I am tired.  For the past several nights I have slept only a little.  What with late nights with good friends, last minute packing (one backpack and one carryon…can I get a booyah?) and sisterly sleepovers I have simply not slept very much.  There will be time to catch up on sleeping on the plane, I suppose.  I figure I will be jet lagged anyway, so why not be tired to boot?

I am not sure what internet access will be like in India, but I will try to update as frequently as possible.  As soon as I am there I promise the conjecture will cease.  There shall be no more guesstimating itineraries and goals…hopefully…

8 Responses to Leaving tonight!

  1. Laura says:

    I am SO excited for you. And BOOYAH to the light packing. Now you don’t have to go through the same missing baggage hell I did in Granada. I can’t wait to hear about everything you see and do there. I will be checking back here obsessively for updates.

    Love from your biffle ❤

  2. Heather says:

    We’re here and following your journey, hep iii… love you! hep ii and fam

  3. Holly, I just had the pleasure of reading all your postings on this blog….very poetic and thought-provoking. You are a writer, and I very much look forward to hearing your insightful, thoughtful perspective on your travels and experiences in none other than India!

    The Lord be with you, and may you draw close to Him in your day-to-day. I am enjoying getting to know you!

    Love to you,
    Janice

    • tertiaryhep says:

      Thank you so much! Please continue your prayers. All of the participants are on very different pages religiously, which is mostly good, but a little hard. Hopefully we’ll all maintain a sense of unity and togetherness.

      Thanks for reading!

  4. Vicki says:

    double booyah. the image of your single backpack lingered with me afterward…man! how cool is that?!

    from what i hear, internet access is ridiculous in india, even in slums. looking forward to reading, but looking forward MORE to you just being out there and living life, sharing experiences, changing things and being changes.

    thank you for making time to hang!
    v

    • tertiaryhep says:

      internet access is ridiculous here. there’s a cafe on practically every other street. whootie whoo!

      thanks for keeping up with me on m’blog. i’m glad you’re following the journey. 🙂

Say Something:

