Surprise! An update!

So.  I’ve been off the blogging grid for a while for two reasons.

The real reason is that I have recently moved to Chicago for school and, as such, have been busy with packing, and saying goodbye to all of the Minnesotans that I’m going to miss, looking for a place to live, unpacking, and getting settled in my new apartment.  The mostly pretend reason is that wordpress is super cool and they decided that because my blog is obviously spam, they ought to shut it down for a little while to teach me a lesson.

I phrased my disbelief like this:

“you seem to be under the impression that my personal blog is spam of some sort.

it isn’t, as i am sure you will be able to tell by looking at it.  i have no idea what gave you that impression, but i would appreciate it if you would reactivate my blog so i can use it again.”

They expressed their most sincere apologies like this:

“Hi,

Your site was flagged by our automated anti-spam controls. I have reviewed your site and have removed the suspension notice.

We are very sorry for that happening and the inconvenience it caused you.”

And now I have my blog again.  Hooray!

So now I am sitting in a coffeeshop and trying to catch up on…everything.  I need to subscribe to fewer blogs.  I am activating various accounts that will hopefully find work for me and applying to work at chains (because that way you can apply at four different locations at ONCE, which is killing multiple birds with singular stones in the best way possible.)  I’m trying to get all of my various accounts in order for school and trying to figure out how in the hell I am going to be able to afford tuition and living expenses.  It looks a little bit impossible from where I am sitting.  I am also trying to find out where I can buy a bike for cheap and…you don’t need a copy of my to-do list, but let’s suffice it to say that I have more than enough silly little tasks to keep me busy before school starts on Thursday.

Thursday is soon.

In less stressed out news, I am registered for classes and I have an apartment.  The apartment is amazing.  It’s in a neighborhood full of children (and two really yappy dogs, but that is the only bad thing I’ve noticed.)  We only have to pay for electricity AND we have free laundry.  Also, our property manager is a super nice guy and is already doing and offering us a lot of favors, which is awesome and makes the house feel a bit more like a home.  There was a brief snag, wherein one of the roommates decided that she wasn’t cut out for Shimer, after all, and left, but we have replaced her with relative ease and we’re feeling good about that.  Hoo-rah.

I can already tell that my life is going to be a lot different here, but hopefully in a good way.  It’ll be a new experience to live in an apartment with two girls I don’t know yet, and I’m looking forward to that.  I’m going to overwhelm myself with classes (I’m trying to convince them to let me take Latin on top of my full course load because I REALLY love Latin), and get a job or two to pay for next semester’s tuition (hopefully…why is school so expensive?), and bike my ass off all the time and apply for scholarships left and right in the hope that maybe some of the money that I make at my jobs will be able to go to other feeble desires like food and rent and concerts and Baileys.

Come visit me.  I got the big room and the floor space is begging for visitors.

2 Responses to Surprise! An update!

  1. Heather says:

    I am excited for this new chapter in your life, hep iii! Love you…

  2. gandalftrust says:

    It is good to hear a bit about your endeavors. Cross “worry” off . . . it will work . . . and I’m here to help with that as needed (making it work that is). Love you! mom

Say Something:

