Car Meditation

A blog that I read suggested using your commute as a time to meditate.

Since I am a new member to the commuter community, I decided to give it a shot.  After all, anything has to be better than flipping through radio stations, wishing my Buick (oh for Summer-Saabing) had a more accesible horn, and being constantly amazed at how terribly so many people drive.  There are only so many times that I can say, “If you’re going to be a dick, I’m going to be a dick” to cars that deserve dickishness.

So.  Meditation.

The blog I read suggested meditating during your commute by focusing on driving.  Y’know, take a few deep breaths before you start your car, be aware of your feet on the pedals and your hands on the steering wheel, take in your surroundings as you drive through sight and sound and touch and WALA arrive to work refreshed.

I made it about fifteen minutes, which I think is pretty good for someone who doesn’t really meditate.

But dudes.  Driving is stressful.  I’m trying to quietly take in my surroundings and there is an ocean of red, glaring taillights in front of me.  I’m trying experience looking through my windshield and some fool cuts off two lanes of traffic because they had to drive in the left lane until his exit was thirty feet away.  When you’re required to be mindful of stressful stimuli, it inherently becomes a more stressful experience.

Today I started using a new app called “Stop, Breathe & Think”.  Part of the guided meditation it took me through told me to be aware of any uncomfortable feeling in my body.  To be aware of it, acknowledge that it exists, and then to let it go.

Which makes me think that maybe, just maybe that is how I was supposed to do the car meditation.  Perhaps I was supposed to see the terrible drivers around me and forgive them their terribleness.  To see them disrespecting every other person on the road in their quest to get home five minutes sooner and to let them be.  Yes, their actions impacted the amount of time it took me to get home, but that didn’t have to change anything else about me.  I see.  I recognize.  I shrug.

That’s actually definitely what I was supposed to do.  But for serious, the stimulus of a thousand bright red taillights was too much for me.  I would rather just devote the minimum necessary brain power to driving while spending most of my brain energy listening to my podcasts.

Which makes it sound like I’m an irresponsible driver.  I swear I’m not.  Unless we’re in a gridlock I always have a couple car lengths between myself and the car in front of me.  I let people in when they use their blinkers.  I use my blinkers.  I don’t change lanes in the middle of an intersection.  When traffic is bad I get into my exit lane at least a mile before my exit so as not to cause issues for everyone else.  I am aware of the cars around me.

I just don’t see the benefit to spending an hour and a half every being mindful about how much what I’m doing sucks.

I think I’ll stick to podcasts, thankyouverymuch.

(This is me throwbacktuesdaying to the kind of blogging I did in high school.  No edits.  Just a me talking about whatever I’m thinking about.  #fascinating)

2 Responses to Car Meditation

  1. blesshsu says:

    Mindfulness is a good idea, but I agree – sometimes distraction is in order.

Say Something:

